Iḷisaġvik Celebrates Class of 2020 and Special Recognitions — CORRECTED

UTQIAĠVIK (Barrow), AK (May 28, 2020) – Iḷisaġvik College is pleased to announce the graduates of Iḷisaġvik College’s Class of 2020:

Bachelor, Business Administration: Erik Darian Danner
Associate of Arts, Liberal Arts: Taylor Bowen, Benjamin Hanby Steward
Associate of Arts, Iñupiaq Studies: Elizabeth Asisaun Toovak
Associate of Applied Science, Accounting: Keleiola Talaiasi
Associate of Applied Science, Business Management: Jacynthia Sarah Oprenov, Lyndsey LaRé Blanco Associate of Applied Science, Construction Technology: Donna Armey
Associate of Applied Science, Dental Health Therapy: Inga Marcella Weddle, Wilma Uisok Certificate, Accounting Technician II: Keleiola Talaiasi
Certificate, Business Specialist I: Dolly Frankson Hank
Certificate, Business Specialist II: Lyndsey LaRé Blanco
Certificate, Construction Technology II: Donna Armey
Certificate, Entrepreneurship and Small Business Management I: Erik Darian Danner
Certificate, Entrepreneurship and Small Business Management II: Erik Darian Danner
Certificate, Indigenous Education II: Haley Marie Fischer
Certificate, Information Technology Support Specialist I: Jacob D. Harris
Certificate, Liberal Arts: Juliana Osgood
Certificate, Liberal Arts: Taylor Bowen
Certificate, Medical Office Management II: Haavale Tuilautala
Certificate, Office Management I: Rachel Schierholt
Certificate, Office Management II: Haavale Tuilautala
Endorsement, Carpentry Level I: Rosalie Misimua Tialavea

General Education Diploma (GED): Kodi Andrew Kroll, Max Ungarook Ahgeak, Jr., Bert Gordon, Marjorie (Aveoganna) Hopson, MaHa’amoa Kaitapu

Workforce Development: Iḷisaġvik is proud to have offered many different Workforce Development trainings and industry certifications to over 700 students. For a listing of some of the classes we’ve offered and the students earning certificates, please click on this link.

Special Recognitions:

  • Iḷisaġvik College Board of Trustees confers upon Ida Olemaun the Honorary Associate of Arts Degree in recognition for her tireless work advocating for education across the North Slope.
  • American Indian College Fund Faculty of the Year: Denise Merat, Associate Professor of Foundational English.
  • Iḷisaġvik College Adjunct Faculty of the Year: Dr. Jaime Davis, Business Program
  • Alumnus of the Year: Adam Jene Burnett

Erik Darian Danner is the first to graduate with a Bachelor’s Degree from Iḷisaġvik College, in BusinessAdministration. Taylor Bowen is the second student to earn an Associate’s Degree through the Dual Credit Program, graduating with her college degree a few weeks before earning her High School Diploma.

The Class of 2020 coincides with Iḷisaġvik College’s 25th Anniversary. The theme for the 25th Anniversary is, “Unapologetically Iñupiaq,” which was developed following a year of conversations with students, faculty, staff, and community members.

Iḷisaġvik College | External Affairs Cordelia Kellie
Direct: 907.982.0846

About Iḷisaġvik College Iḷisaġvik College is Alaska’s only tribal college and is located in the northernmost village in the United States, Utqiaġvik (formerly Barrow). Iḷisaġvik College provides quality post- secondary academic, vocational and technical education in a learning environment that perpetuates and strengthens Iñupiat culture, language, values and traditions. It is dedicated to serving its students and developing a well-educated and trained workforce who meet the human resource needs of North Slope employers and the state of Alaska.